Governor’s Fashion Awards nominees announced

Oct. 24, 2013 | 0 Comments


0715 HFMThe inaugural Hawai’i Fashion Month will come to a close Wednesday, Oct. 30, with the 2013 Governor’s Fashion Awards at the Modern Honolulu.

The event starts at 7 p.m. and also celebrates the 60th anniversary of ‘IOLANI Sportwear, the 50th anniversary of Hilo Hattie, and the 10th anniversary of Fighting Eel. In addition, David “Pua” Rochlen, Surf Line Hawaii and Jams World will be honored with Lifetime Achievement Awards.

Companies and individuals from Hawaii’s fashion industry will receive recognition in 13 categories: major retailer, boutique retailer, emerging designer, established designer, lifetime achievement, contemporary wear designer, aloha wear designer, couture/formal wear designer, jewelry designer, photographer, wardrobe stylist, beauty and outstanding professional.

The return of the awards, after a six-year hiatus, is a mark of renewed vigor in the fashion community and shows what can happen when government and private sectors work together toward a common goal.

The Governor’s Fashion Awards started in 1987 with the administration of Gov. John Waihee in partnership with the Hawaii Fashion Industry Association and later the Retail Merchants of Hawaii. It continued as a government/private-sector endeavor until 2006.

Tickets are $125 and may be purchased at

2013 Governor’s Fashion Awards Nominees

Established Designer of the Year

» Rona Bennett and Lan Chung, Fighting Eel
» Lisa Cabrinha, Letarte Swimwear
» David “Pua” Rochlen, Jr., Surf Line Hawaii, Ltd. (Jams World)

Emerging Designer of the Year

» Matt Bruening, Matt Bruening
» Deborah Mascia, Mu‘umu‘u Heaven
» Cora Spearman, Coradorables

Major Retailer of the Year

» Don Kang, Hilo Hattie CEO/President
» Brian Tatsumura, Nordstrom store manager
» Al Tomonari, Neiman Marcus general manager

Boutique Retailer of the Year

» Deborah Mascia, Mu‘umu‘u Heaven
» Rick Ralston, Rix Island Wear
» Pua Rochlen, Jams World

Designer, Contemporary

» Amos Kotomori, Amos Kotomori
» Bernard Foong, Bernard Foong
» Ari South, Andy South

Designer, Aloha

» Jamie Makasobe, Kealopiko LLC
» Sue Melinda Pearson, Pili Design
» Cora Spearman, Coradorables

Designer, Couture/Formal

» Anne Namba, Anne Namba Designs
» Feliz Salas, Feliz Salas
» Ari South, Andy South

Designer, Jewelry

» Amber Chesebro, Salty Girl Jewelry
» Jason Dow, Jason Dow, Inc.
» Kaylin Laeha, Panacea Designs

Photographer of the Year

» Harold Julian, Harold Julian
» Mellie Tjoeng, Mellie Tjoeng Photography
» Dallas Nagata White, DNW LLC

Wardrobe Stylist of the Year

» Geremy Campos, Geremy Campos stylist/fashion editor
» Amos Kotomori, Amos Kotomori, Ltd.
» Kim Smith, Kim Smith Stylist

Beauty Professional of the Year

» Dhyana Leung, Face Art Beauty
» Paul Brown, Paul Brown Salon
» Tania de Jesus, Beauty by Tania

Outstanding Professional

» Paul Brown, Paul Brown Salon, owner
» Terri Funakoshi, Pomare, dba Hilo Hattie EVP, CMO
» Don Kang, Hilo Hattie CEO/President

No Comments

Comments are closed.