2014 Beard Awards winners announced

May. 5, 2014 | 0 Comments

HONOLULU PULSE STAFF / honolulupulse@staradvertiser.com

This year’s James Beard Awards was held Monday, May 5, in Lincoln Center in New York City. Books, broadcast and journalism awards were announced May 2. The prestige honors are for food professionals in the United States.

Outstanding Chef:

Nancy Silverton; Pizzeria Mozza; Los Angeles

Rising Star of the Year (Tie):

» Jimmy Bannos Jr.; The Purple Pig; Chicago
» Blaine Wetzell; The Willows Inn on Lummi Island; Lummi Island, Wash.

Outstanding Restaurant:

The Slanted Door, San Francisco

Best New Restaurant:

Peche Seafood Grill, New Orleans

Outstanding Pastry Chef:

Dominique Ansel; Dominique Ansel Bakery; New York City

Best Chef, West:

Daniel Patterson; Coi; San Francisco

Best Chef, Northwest:

Naomi Pomeroy; Beast; Portland, Ore.

Best Chef, New York City:

April Bloomfield, The Spotted Pig

Best Chef, Great Lake:

Dave Beran; Next; Chicago

Best Chef, Mid-Atlantic:

Vikram Sunderam; Rasika; Washington, D.C.

Best Chef, Northeast:

Jamie Bissonnette; Coppa; Boston

Best Chef, Southwest:

Chris Shepherd; Underbelly; Houston

Best Chef, Midwest:

Justin Aprahamian; Sanford; Milwaukee

Best Chef, Southeast:

Ashley Christensen; Poole’s Downtown Diner; Raleigh, N.C.

Best Chef, South (Tie):

» Ryan Prewitt; Pêche Seafood Grill; New Orleans
» Sue Zemanick; Gautreau’s; New Orleans

Outstanding Restaurateur:

Barbara Lynch; Barbara Lynch Gruppo (No. 9 Park, Menton, B&G Oysters, and others); Boston

Outstanding Service:

The Restaurant at Meadwood; St. Helena, Calif.

Outstanding Bar Program:

The Bar at the NoMad Hotel, New York City

Outstanding Wine Program:

The Barn at Blackberry Farm; Walland, Tenn.

Outstanding Wine, Beer, or Spirits Professional:

Garrett Oliver; Brooklyn Brewery; Brooklyn, N.Y.

Outstanding Restaurant Design (75 Seats and Under):

Lawton Stanley Architects for Grace, Chicago

Outstanding Restaurant Design (76 Seats and Over):

Jensen Architects for Shed; Healdsburg, Calif.

2014 James Beard Foundation Lifetime Achievement Award:

Sirio Maccioni, Le Cirque, New York City

2014 James Beard Foundation America’s Classics:

» Hansen’s Sno-Bliz; New Orleans; owner: Ashley Hansen
» Nick’s Italian Café; McMinnville, Ore.; Nick Peirano, Carmen Peirano and Eric Ferguson
» Olneyville New York System; Providence, R.I.; Stephanie Stevens Turini and Greg Stevens
» Perini Ranch Steakhouse; Buffalo Gap, Texas; Lisa and Tom Perini
» Sokolowski’s University Inn; Cleveland; Bernard Sokolowski, Mary Balbier and Michael Sokolowski

2014 James Beard Foundation Who’s Who of Food & Beverage in America:

» Edward Behr, food writer, St. Johnsbury, Vt.
» John Besh, chef and restaurateur, New Orleans
» David Chang, chef and restaurateur, New York City
» Barry Estabrook, writer, Vergennes, Vt.
» Paul Kahan, chef and restaurateur, Chicago
» Sherry Yard, pastry chef and author, Los Angeles

2014 James Beard Foundation Humanitarian of the Year:

Matt Haley, Philanthropist and Restaurateur, Rehoboth Beach, Del.

BOOKS (Partial List):

Cookbook of the Year:

“Historic Heston,” by Heston Blumenthal (Bloomsbury)

Cookbook Hall of Fame:

Diana Kennedy

General Cooking:

“Smoke: New Firewood Cooking,” by Tim Byres (Rizzoli New York)

American Cooking:

“The New Midwestern Table: 200 Heartland Recipes,” by Amy Thielen (Random House)

Baking and Dessert:

“The Art of French Pastry,” by Jacquy Pfeiffer with Martha Rose Shulman (Knopf)

Focus on Health:

“Gluten-Free Girl Every Day,” by Shauna James Ahern with Daniel Ahern (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt)

Reference and Scholarship:

“Soul Food: The Surprising Story of an American Cuisine One Plate at a Time,” by Adrian Miller (The University of North Carolina Press)

Vegetable Focused and Vegetarian:

“Vegetable Literacy,” by Deborah Madison (Ten Speed Press)

Writing and Literature:

“Salt Sugar Fat: How the Food Giants Hooked Us,” by Michael Moss (Random House)


Outstanding Personality/Host:

Host: Ina Garten, “Barefoot Contessa: Back to Basics,” network: Food Network

Radio Show/Audio Webcast:

“This American Life”; hosts: Fred Armisen, Ben Calhoun and Ira Glass; area: Public Radio; producer: Ben Calhoun

Television Program, in Studio or Fixed Location:

“Martha Stewart’s Cooking School”; host: Martha Stewart; network: PBS; producers: Greta Anthony, Christina Deyo, Michael Morrison, Olivia Schneider, Martha Stewart, Calia Van Dyk and Lisa Wagner

Television Program, on Location:

“The Mind of a Chef”; host: Anthony Bourdain; network: PBS; producers: Jared Andrukanis, Anthony Bourdain, Joe Caterini, Chris Collins, Michael Steed and Lydia Tenaglia

JOURNALISM (Partial List):

Cooking, Recipes, or Instruction:

Andy Ricker; Saveur; “The Star of Siam”

Craig Claiborne Distinguished Restaurant Review Award:

Alan Richman; GQ; “Alan Richman Walks Into a Jewish Deli…,” “The Elm: Is Brooklyn Ready for Sophisticated Dining?,” “ZZ’s, the Most Expensive 58 Minutes in New York Dining”

Food and Culture:

John Birdsall; Lucky Peach; “America, Your Food Is So Gay”

Food Coverage in a General-Interest Publication:

The Wall Street Journal; “Off Duty” Section; Beth Kracklauer

Food Politics, Policy, and the Environment:

Eli Saslow; The Washington Post; “Food Stamps”

Food-Related Columns:

Adam Sachs; Bon Appétit; The Obsessivore

Group Food Blog:

First We Feast

Health and Well-Being:

Rachael Moeller Gorman; EatingWell; “The Whole-Grain, Reduced-Fat, Zero-Calorie, High-Fiber, Lightly Sweetened Truth about Food Labels”

Individual Food Blog:

Homesick Texan, Lisa Fain

MFK Fisher Distinguished Writing Award:

John Jeremiah Sullivan; Lucky Peach; “I Placed a Jar in Tennessee”

Publication of the Year:

Civil Eats

No Comments

Comments are closed.